How do I hide my friends on Facebook?

I really don’t want my friends to see my other friends on Facebook. Is there a way I can hide them?

Facebook gives you the ability to share all kinds of information with your business colleagues, such as important updates, employment history and even your friends. Left unchecked, your profile page can be easily viewed by just about anyone with an Internet connection or a mobile phone. While this can be beneficial when trying to increase your small business’s Web presence using your Facebook account, it can also be detrimental at times, like when you’re looking for a new job. Facebook does give all users the ability to customize all privacy settings, however. For instance, the website allows you to prevent people from viewing your friends list by accessing and modifying the basic security options.

Classic Facebook

  1. Log into your Facebook account and click your name at the top right corner to view your profile page.
  2. Click the “Edit” button at the upper right corner of your profile page. An “Edit Profile” page opens.
  3. Click “Friends and Relationships” on the left side of the page. New options appear allowing you to modify your friends list privacy settings among other things.
  4. Click the drop-down arrow to the right of the “Friends” section.
  5. Choose either “Friends” or “Only Me” to prohibit people from viewing your friends list. “Friends” restricts access to your friends list to only your friends. “Only Me” restricts access to everyone except you.
  6. Click “Save Changes” to finish.

Timeline

  1. Log into your Facebook account and click your name at the top right corner to view your profile page.
  2. Click “Friends” at the top of your timeline to view your friends list.
  3. Click the “Edit” button at the top right of the page. A drop-down menu appears.
  4. Click the downward-pointing arrow in the drop-down menu. More options appear.
  5. Choose either “Friends” or “Only Me” to prohibit people from viewing your friends list. “Friends” restricts access to your friends list to only your friends. “Only Me” restricts access to everyone except you.

I hope that helps. Facebook has gotten a lot better over the years at giving you control over your privacy. Now it’s just a matter of finding where you can manage it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *